|STORYTIME: MY EYELASHES ARE KILLING MY EYES|

Eye-header

Do I have your attention?

Great! Now sit back, relax, and dedicate the next few minutes to reading a recent event in my life.

For the past few weeks, the inner corner of my left eye has been increasingly irritated. Despite working at a doctor’s surgery, I would do any means possible to avoid seeking medical advice and self-diagnose and treat myself using at-home remedies.

It’s simple, right? Do whatever you can to prevent further irritation, such as spending less time in front of electronic devices and more time resting your eyes! Unfortunately for me, every day life renders me to wear my air-sucking contacts for absurd hours while staring into a cheap company-owned monitor.

trial-frames

When push came to shove and the irritation increased, I swallowed my stubbornness and booked a last minute appointment to Specsavers to face the degrading letter-chart eye test.

Now as a child, I loved the optimetrists! It was always an intriguing experience wearing the obnoxious plastic frames where interchanging magnifying glass pieces would slide in front of each eye to determine how much magnification was needed in order to provide clear vision. As I grew up, the trip to the opticians quickly turned into a loathsome and degrading experience where I felt as if I was being judged by how poorly I performed during each eye examination.

So here’s how it goes:
Hit the lights.
It’s dark.
Nothing but a blurry black letter in text size 999 appears on the backlit board.
“Can you read the letter?” asks the Doctor.

I scoff and droop my head in embarrassment.
“…….A?”
The silence clearly answers it all.
It was ‘R’.
(C’mon! All the letters look the same without my glasses!)
Queue the multiple shards of glass placed in front of my eyes.
One by one, these magnificent transparent pieces sharpen my vision.
Until everything becomes clear again!

The board changes its slide.
“Now, can you read the first line of letters for me?”
Fuck.

Roll onto the next day! After bracing myself and bombarding the Specsavers employee with my recent eye-related annoyances, she slowly backed away and sent me to a more experienced member of staff. To my luck, the original appointment had been altered and upgraded to an emergency EOS (enhanced optical services) session – savvy name, right?!

From being seated on the patient chair onwards, it was a series of interrogating questions and intrusive examinations to my eyes. All to which led to one clear answer:

My eyelashes are growing sporadically in unconventional areas
causing the hairs to scratch and irritate my eyeballs.

Annoying, right? But here’s what happened next; the optician revealed a pair of tweezers and proceeded to pluck the rebellious lashes growing towards the inner corner of my eye. All the while, I grit my teeth and internally cry for my loss. This misfortune was followed by the news that it’ll be an ongoing problem, and the next step will be to conduct laser hair removal surgery on the inner-parts of my eyelids…. which doesn’t sound appealing to any mildly-vain female!

eyelash-irritation

Since the ‘minor surgery’, I’ve been advised by the doctor to wear more mascara, which will help to guide my lashes and to fan them away from scratching my eyeballs even further! It’s currently 10PM.  My face is sweaty and oily, but I’m reluctant to remove my mascara in fear of eyeball irritation and laser hair removal.  It just goes to show how something so small and innocent on your face can cause such dramatic effects on one of the most important features on your body!

So that’s it. That’s my story.

Once again, my eyesight proceeds to worsen and I will be in need of another pair of prescription glasses and a hole in my wallet.

I hate having poor eyesight. 

 

One thought on “|STORYTIME: MY EYELASHES ARE KILLING MY EYES|

Leave a Reply

